Recent Book Reads and Recommendations!

Book recommendations are some of my favorite posts to write!

If you read my last book post, you know of my utter obsession with Liane Moriarty (Nicole Kidman and Reese Witherspoon will soon star on-screen in Big, Little Lies.) I gobbled up three of her books late in 2015 and spent January and February running back and forth to the library to check out her earlier books. Have I mentioned? My librarians are my BFFs.

Here’s what I’ve been reading the last few months…

1. The Hypnotist’s Love Story by Liane Moriarty: Ellen is a hypnotherapist and finally falling in love. But new love, Patrick, has a stalker ex-girlfriend. Ellen is intrigued and thinks it would be fun to meet stalker…she doesn’t know she already has…

2. The Last Anniversary by Liane Moriary: Sophie has unexpectedly inherited her ex-boyfriend’s Aunt Connie’s house on Scribbly Gum Island—home of the famously unsolved Munro Baby mystery. A cute read about finding your own happiness. And I love the name “Scribbly Gum Island.” I want to move there.

51qKI6KxaZL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_51P73+U9aUL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

3. Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty. Moriarty’s debut novel about 3 beautiful triplets – they are so dramatic! As a reader who loves character-driven novels, Moriarty nails it every time. I’ve asked Moriarty to tone down the swearing but she says her characters have a mind of their own…

51ySVDWUByL

You can tell how much better Moriarty has gotten as her subsequent books are released – a very fun author observation! This is also great news for all of us: WRITING IS A CRAFT we can all learn.

And now I’ve read all her books and am in a deep, dark slump…but don’t fret, Ms. Moriarty has a new book coming out this July! And my BFF (dear librarian, Gail) has already ordered it for me. I tell you, there are benefits living in the sticks!

Coming in July… (I mean, shouldn’t they hire me to be her publicist or something?)

51RlN2Hk9NL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

4. Writing Irresistible Kidlit by Mary Kole: So, so, good. A former literary agent, Kole knows the business. Want to write for kids of any age? READ THIS NOW. I’ve underlined and ear-marked every page.

51qs4lk8zzL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

5. The War That Saved my Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley: “Mom, you HAVE to read this book!” my 11-year-old Brynne insisted. It was a very good, award-winning middle grade read set in WWII.

6. Finding Audrey by Sophia Kinsella: My first Kinsella book, I had to read this young adult novel after my oldest couldn’t stop laughing and saying, “The mom in this book is SO YOU!” Which, after reading, was totally unflattering. Kinsella does a great job using humor to write about a serious, psychological issue.

51p6slAmTyL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_ 412jg1TZ5IL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

7. Secrets of a Charmed Life by Susan Meisner: An adult historical fiction novel set in WWII that features two young sisters separated during the Blitz in England. Heart wrenching for me to read about a missing child.

51Dv9RUSOJL._SX305_BO1,204,203,200_

8. Medium Hero by Korby Lenker: A collection of short stories, Korby Lenker CAN WRITE! I loved this collection so much. Lender will make you laugh and cry and think about your faith as he searches for his own.

51dMafku4BL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

9. The More of Less: Finding the Life You Want Under Everything You Own by Joshua Becker: THIS BOOK is going to be big and deserves its own post. Joshua, of the hugely popular blog, Becoming Minimalist sent me an Advanced Reading Copy as he is about to release this gem of a book. Pre-order before May 3rd and you’ll have free access to the Minimalist class. I’m not joking: this book is a life-changer. It’s fantastic. You’ll be hearing more…

41pkwq-8CJL._SX351_BO1,204,203,200_

10. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi: I weep. What happens when a brilliant neuroscientist gets cancer just as he is finally embarking on his calling in life? A #1 New York Times Bestseller, “For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?” I was trying to drift into a restful Sunday nap while reading but couldn’t stop crying and sniffling. The Professor puts up with a lot, I tell you. Worthy read.

41jFVZL72YL._SX336_BO1,204,203,200_

And now on to the next batch of books. Tell me, dear friends, have any book recommendations for us?

FacebookTwitterGoogle+PinterestShare

7 thoughts on “Recent Book Reads and Recommendations!

  1. Julia Tomiak

    I loved Finding Audrey as well, and my daughter (the only child of mine who read it, the rest are boys) said the same thing to me “YOU’RE JUST LIKE THIS MOM!” Like you, a few chapters in, I felt slightly offended. I’m not nearly as hysterical as that woman.
    Am I?
    Per your advice, I’m currently listening to BIG LITTLE LIES by LIane Moriarty and fully understand your obsession. I’ve given the book as a birthday gift twice this week.
    Keep the book posts coming!

    Reply
  2. Nina

    LOVED When Breath Becomes Air so much!

    They should totally hire you as the publicist. And didn’t know about Nicole and Reese for the movie. Can’t wait!

    Reply
  3. Jessica Lawson

    I loved What Alice Forgot~ thanks for the other recs by this author! And hubs and I are going to rent the movie HEART OF THE SEA tonight (I know, totally not the same as reading the book) . I enjoyed FINDING AUDREY also~ I’m a sucker for all of Sophie Kinsella’s adult stories~ the voices and characters are always outwardly funny and inwardly vulnerable.

    When are you going to post about your big news??!

    Reply
  4. Leanne Goeschel

    Since you liked Finding Audrey (me too), try Can You Keep a Secret, also by Kinsella. I read it while recuperating from something and it kept me in stitches. Starts out as chick lit, similar to the Moriarty books, but along the way, reels you in. Also, I just read the six Clifton series books by Jeffery Archer and really enjoyed them.

    Reply
  5. Katie

    I’m hosting book club next month at my house, with the book, The Lifeboat, fun easy read that makes you think.
    I loved, loved The boys in the boat, the underdog story of boys from Seattle going on to win Gold in the 1936 German Olympics. Counting by 7’s is fabulous, so great about a young, intelligent girl who looses both her adoptive parents.

    Reply
  6. Annie MacKenzie

    The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. I read some of her others right afterward because I didn’t want it to end…Home Front…and Firefly Lane. I seriously think you’ll like them.

    Reply
  7. Dana

    Just finished Big Little Lies a few weeks ago, and it looks like the movie was cast very well! I love that you are such a fan girl:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *